h1

The best advice is something I can use right now

March 11, 2011

The best advice is something I can use right now rather than just telling me why I need the advice.

I expect you have come across the same thing.

Well, if only you knew who the decision maker is you could go to them.
If I was driving there I would not have used this road.

You can pick holes in my approach and my actions later, but for now advice on how to move things forward is what I’m looking for.  Not advice that would be useful if I had a time machine or a magical way of making information available, change the personalities of the people I am dealing with, change my own personality or add 3 days to the working week to give time to get things done.

If I’m asked for advice then I always try to be practical with what they need.  The exercise on learning from the greater context can come later, but for now the focus is what is the next step.

Leave a Reply

