h1

Who stole my desktop

July 30, 2010

In the year I have been using a number of different OSs on different desktops and something has struck me that I don’t like.
The amount of desktop space being taken up by decoration is growing and growing.
Menus are getting bigger, icons in the toolbars are getting bigger, the window real estate in growing.
I don’t like this. If I buy a bigger screen is it because I want to see more my work not just bigger versions of my menus.
This is also a problem on my little netbook where the new icons make the working area smaller than I think is possible.

Please, please can desktop developers take this into account. I know it’s pretty, but I want my desktop back.

Leave a Reply

