h1

Top 5 reasons I got off the technology rollercoaster/Top 5 reasons why I will not return

November 3, 2009

Don’t get me wrong.  I love technology and I enjoy knowing about it but I find these days I’m not obsessive about owning and using the latest gadgets today.  I still buy gadgets and tech but not at the same rate.

  1. It was just not fun anymore.  When I always wanted the latest and greatest nothing I owned was good enough.   I always knew there was something better
  2. Rarely did the newest gadget deliver on the expectation.  It was usually better than what it replaced but not to the level I believed it would.
  3. I feel bad discarding so much stuff that is perfectly usable just because it isn’t shiny anymore. The landfills are full enough without my help.
  4. I have more important things to spend my money on these days like my family.  I get more pleasure for spending time and money on enjoying myself with my family than a shiny new piece of kit.
  5. I’ve seen behind the curtain.  It’s all buzz and marketing and tomorrow there will be a 2.0 version or 2x speed version that promises to make my life better.

Now the Top 5 reasons why I will never return.

  1. The stuff I own now does what I need.
  2. It is fun using my creativity and imagination to solve problem that before I would have just bought a bit of kit to sort out.  Actually, I didn’t know I was this resourceful.
  3. I have more free time. I am spending less time setting things up, taking things apart, getting gadgets to talk to each other.
  4. By skipping a generation or 2 and going for the upgrades or new gadgets when I get the new functionality that will help me without paying the price premium or being an unofficial beta tester for bleeding edge tech.
  5. There is a lot of gadgetry and technology out there that you can get free or at least way less than new. Taking a gamble on something cheaper and esoteric is fun. I suppose this is why ebay does so well.

Check it out.  Route through the old gadgets and tech that you have already and see if you can repurpose it for something you need.  You never know you might even enjoy the experience.

 

Leave a Reply

